No separating Saints in Junior Premier Clash

Kerry Petroleum Junior Premier Club Football Championship Group 4 Round 2



St Pats 1-11       St Michael’s-Foilmore 2-08


Both teams shared the spoils in this pulsating Kerry Petroleum Junior Premier Club Championship, Group 4 Round 2 encounter played under windy conditions in Blennerville Sunday afternoon.


Playing with the aid of the wind, St Michaels-Foilmore found the back of the net in the first minute from their very first attack through Ronan Clifford from a high ball sent in. St Pats got on the score board through a Willie Hurley free 2 minutes later only for Matthew O’Sullivan to restore their goal advantage when he converted a free. St Pats drew level after 13 minutes with 3 straight points only for the away side to reciprocate with 3 unanswered points of their own. St Michael’s-Foilmore’s high pressing game set up made it difficult for St Pat’s to put passes together as they had 3 men tackling each time. Paudi Bailey was called into action when he had to make a save from Brian Smith only for his saved effort to go over for a point. Matthew O’Sullivan converted a late free as the away side took a 1-06 to 0-05 lead to the break.


St Pats stormed out of the blocks in the second half and within 6 minutes had amassed a score of 1-03 to lead by 2 points. The goal, scored by Fergal O’Brien was worked from the back with Brendan Poff intercepting a ball and no less than 8 players worked the ball upfield before it ended in the back of the net to the delight of the home supporters. Luke Mulligan added a couple of points to stretch the lesad to 4 points and Paudi Bailey was called into action when he saved a Matthew O’Sullivan penalty mid way into the game. However, the away side rallied through frees converted by Matthew O Sullivan and a goal scored by substitute, Pierce McGill with 7 minutes of play left. St Pats Luke Mulligan levelled matters 2 minutes later as the match ended on a score line of St Pats 1-11 to 2-08 from St-Michaels-Foilmore.






St Pats: Paudi Bailey, Joe O’Connor, Jordan Conway, Conor Moore, Eoin O’Carroll, Brendan Poff, Brian Murphy, Paul McMahon, Liam Poff, David O’Callaghan, Luke Mulligan, Tommy Lynch, Eoin Greaney, Willie Hurley, Fergal O’Brien

Subs: None



St Michael’s-Foilmore: Ciaran O’Shea, Brian Smith, Cian Goggin, Kevin Griffin, Ciaran Clifford, Chris O’Sullivan, Andy O’Connell, Mark Griffin, Alan Smith, Kevin Cronin, Matthew O’Sullivan, Ronan Clifford, James Moran, Mark McCarthy, Luke O’Shea

Subs:  Padraig King for Ronan Clifford, Mike Shea for Andy O’Connell, Pierce McGill for James Moran


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *